GEOGRAPHER | Life of Crime

Life - yes, always something we need to tackle everyday. Christmas is around the corner and lot’s of cold, wintery, and holiday things are going on. Well, for me, just been caught up with everything and seeking for someone new and exciting to blog about. It’s been difficult lately because everything lately has been mediocre or just lacking the aesthetics to capture my attention. Nonetheless this one did - Thank you Hayley.

In the summer of 2005, after a series of deaths in the family, Michael Deni left his hometown in New Jersey for San Francisco. He spent the next several months with his guitar and a synthesizer, turning that tragedy into the songs that would soon become the foundation for GeographerWith the additions of cellist Nathan Blaz and drummer Brian Ostreicher, Geographer spent the next year cutting their teeth in the Bay Area, winning over crowds with the heart-pounding epics that make up their debut record, ‘Innocent Ghosts’. 

After being selected one of three ‘Undiscovered Bands You Need To Hear Now’ by SPIN Magazine and garnering considerable word-of-mouth praise from their energetic live shows, the band signed to San Francisco-based label Tricycle Records, releasing a 7” single for the song ‘Kites’ in October 2009. Presently, the band is set to release their new album “MYTH” on February 28, 2011 (via Tricycle Records   Modern Arts Records). If you don’t know Geographer, they’re a great indie rock band with a good taste in mind.

Think something like Fleet Foxes meets Band of Horses w/ a dude who know’s electronic music put together on one stage and shit them out into a cool band named “Geographer.”

Loving how they start the single off with a big bang and it’s catchy for sure. The grand opening with synths, the drums, and then just takes off with the vocal drop. I feel like seeing them LIVE would be a site to see as they open with this or something. Just one big mesmerizing opening. Sorry about not posting much guys, not feeling with the recent releases lately but this one definitely caught my attention. Give this a gander and listen, they’re good.

Geographer - Kites [LC Recommends]

Oh yeah - this shit is free to download too!

EDIT - Official PRESS Release

In March 2011 the band signed with Modern Art Records, in partnership with Warner Music’s Independent Label Group.  MYTH comes on the heels of recent success including touring nationally with Stars and Ladytron, and showcasing at major music festivals Noise Popand the main stage at Treasure Island Music Festival 2011.  Geographer also garnered praise for their shows at SXSW from Huffington Post as, “Buzz Bands of SXSW” and “Bands You SHOULD See at SXSW.”  KCRW also included Geographer as one of the, “Bands to Watch SXSW 2011.”  The band’s live sound can either spontaneously make a crowd get wild on the dance floor, or completely stand still-enraptured by the music.

After releasing theirhighly acclaimed LP Innocent Ghost and EP Animal Shapes, Geographer teamed up with producer Eli Crews (tUnE-yArDsBeulahWhy?, Deerhoof) and renowned mixer Chris Zane (Passion Pit, WalkmenHoly Ghost!,Tokyo Police Club) toscrupulouslycraft the new record.  On MYTH Mike’s distinct melodic vocals flirt with dazed synth melodies and alluring guitar riffs; while Nathan’s haunting electric cello cords, and Brian’s vibrant, powerful drums blend together to create a mind-altering, ten track album that is pulsating with complex polyrhythms and stunning harmonies.

Geographer started with the courageous decision to turn negative circumstances into positive ambitions. In 2008, Mike was escaping strife within his family, and found himself picking up an abandoned synthesizer off the dismal city streets of San Francisco.  He started to reinvent himself through the art of music, and then simultaneously met Nathan and Brian, which led to the formation of Geographer.

“We met through a mutual friend at an open-mic at The Hotel Utah shortly after we all moved to San Francisco. I feel like it was like a rite of passage,”  Mike says. “I didn’t have a lot of friends here, and I didn’t have a job, so I was just playing all day long. I feel like that really was when I found myself as a songwriter.”

With MYTH Geographer has expanded far beyond their San Francisco roots to create a remarkable indie rock album that will appeal to every generation.

Expect Geographer and MYTH to land on a few ‘Best of 2012’ lists! 

MYTH track listing:
1. Life of Crime 4.49 
2. The Myth of Youth 4.07 
3. Kaleidoscope 4.41 
4. Blinders 3.12 
5. Lovers Game 3.58 
6. The Dream Has Faded 4.24 
7. Shell Beach 3.49 
8. The Boulder 4.00 
9. Vesijarvi 4.22 
10. Kites 4.19

FOLLOWTwitter & Facebook